[Skip to content]

Sign up for our daily newsletter
The Actuary The magazine of the Institute & Faculty of Actuaries

SIAS AGM followed by Jubilee Lecture

Members of the committee are:
• Frank Oldham, chairman, Fellow, Mercer
• Will Bennett, honorary secretary, Fellow, Barnett Waddingham LLP
• James Williamson, honorary treasurer, Fellow, Barnett Waddingham LLP
• Mark Dainty1, student, High Finance Group
• Richard Purcell, Fellow, Pension Corporation
• Alvin Kissoon, Fellow, PwC
• Taha Ahmad1, student, Navigators Management UK Ltd
• Iain Ritchie1, Fellow, KPMG
• Divyaa Mohan1, student, Aon Hewitt
• Sarah Darwin, Fellow, Swiss Re
• Watson Teo1, student, Swiss Re
• Anna Lynskey1, student, LCP LLP.

Will Bennett, Iain Ritchie, Taha Ahmad and Divyaa Mohan are retiring. Iain Ritchie and Taha Ahmad are standing for immediate re-election. Frank Oldham and James Williamson will continue to serve as chairman and honorary treasurer respectively for the 2011/12 session. Richard Purcell has been nominated to take over the position of honorary secretary on Will Bennett's retirement.

The main business of the meeting will be to accept the reports and accounts, to confirm the nomination for honorary secretary, and to confirm the appointment of the successful candidates in the election to fill the vacancies for ordinary members of the committee. Members are elected for a three-year term and may serve for up to two terms, though they may fill one of the honorary roles beyond this period.

The Rules of the society state that there can be between eight and twelve ordinary committee members, so there are a maximum of seven vacancies to be filled, with two nominations already received from current members who are standing for re-election. The vacancies for ordinary members are open to any member of the Society, other than one who has already served six years as an ordinary member of the committee or who will be older than 35 on 1 October 2011 and has not already served on the committee.

One vacancy will be reserved for a ‘younger member', who has not yet completed the examinations of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries or any other body of actuaries or who has not done so since 1 April 2010 and who has not already served on the committee for at least three years.

Nominations should be sent in writing to the honorary secretary, giving name, status and employer of the candidate, together with the names of proposer and seconder, who must be SIAS members. Each candidate should supply a personal profile no longer than 50 words, including a brief biographical history. Nominations should be received no later than Wednesday 31 August 2011. Notice is also needed in writing before 31 August 2011 of any resolutions which members may wish to move at the meeting.

For further information about the role and responsibilities of committee members, please contact Will Bennett at secretary@sias.org.uk.

All committee members are expected to attend committee meetings (up to eight per year at Staple Inn on a weekday evening), attend subcommittee meetings (approximately four per year, venue decided by convenor), SIAS sessional meetings (ten per year, Tuesday evenings), attend the Jubilee Lecture, the annual supper, and some of the social events (approximately one per month, usually Thursday evenings).

1 - a ‘younger member' as defined in the Society's rules

Roger BootleWe are delighted to confirm that the Jubilee Lecture will be given by Roger Bootle, an honorary Fellow and leading economist. Roger will discuss the changes needed to make the financial system safe against a repeat of the recent financial crisis, including discussion on breaking up the banks, capital requirements and regulation. He will also discuss the implications for how we should regard the financial sector of our economy.