[Skip to content]

Sign up for our daily newsletter
The Actuary The magazine of the Institute & Faculty of Actuaries

SIAS bowling 2005

On Thursday 26 May, 16 teams of three gathered at the Elephant and Castle SuperBowl to compete for the title of ‘SIAS Bowling Champions of 2005’ (and to have a bit of fun too!). Teams were paired at random for the first game. In the second round, teams were paired up in order of their scores in the first game.

Dynamo Moist (Chris Mitcheson, Peter Fitchett, and Stuart Foreman) (above) narrowly beat Cornhill (David Corkett, Mark Porter, and Jon Poole) to take first place. Split Happens (Catherine Love, James Teggin and Emma Kedgley) (below) were beaten into last place and proudly took home the losers’ trophy.

Jan Thompson had the dubious honour of winning the medal for the lowest score of the night, while Jonathan Ray and Stephen Edler both topped the table with individual scores of 174 – Jonathan took home the medal as his total score over both games was higher than Stephen’s.

The best team name prize was hotly contested with a few last-minute entries, including the judge’s chosen favourite – ‘I can’t believe it’s not gutter’.

Photos of the event will shortly be appearing on the SIAS website at www.sias.org.uk.

To see a full picture version, see the PDF of the Local society page.