[Skip to content]

Sign up for our daily newsletter
The Actuary The magazine of the Institute & Faculty of Actuaries

SAAX London: new actuarial member interest group

The first Southern African Actuarial ConneXion (SAAX) event, was hosted on 12 October 2009 at Old Mutual plc’s London HQ in the form of a South African braai (read: barbeque) overlooking the Thames. A small working committee was formed to pursue the establishment of this as a regular actuarial dining group with a difference. The event was well-attended and enjoyed by around 50 individuals. An additional 35 people were not able to make it on the day, but have expressed interest in future events, giving us a strong initial membership base to kick off this new member interest group. We’d therefore like to take this opportunity to outline the scope and objectives of SAAX, and to invite all interested parties to join.

SAAX is a non-profit body that aims to bring together people with a common actuarial connection who share an affiliation with Southern Africa. There are at least 150 qualified actuaries or actuarial students working in and around London with Southern African roots and/or affiliation.

Key objectives
Provide members with an opportunity to network
>> Support a central information hub for members - arrange topical speakers with (a sometimes) Southern African connections for events - offer CPD opportunity for attending events

How to become a member
There is currently no intention to charge a membership fee, and events will be attended on a pay-as-you-go basis to cover costs. Visit our website www.saaxgroup.org to register as a new member.

Event format and date for the diary We expect to host three to four events each year in central Lond
on (early evening on a weekday), normally in a relatively informal environment to encourage conversation between members. No doubt food and drink will be part of the pleasantries. Our latest get-together took place on 25 January 2010.

For more information Please visit our website at www.saaxgroup.org where you will find regular updates of events and relevant contact information. The working committee is Adrian Baskir, Coenraad de Bruin, Adele Groyer, Lance Randles, Greg Solomon, Sonja Uys and Marjorie Ngwenya.