[Skip to content]

Sign up for our daily newsletter
The Actuary The magazine of the Institute & Faculty of Actuaries

Heriot-Watt students Scor

Students on the MSc in actuarial science course at Heriot-Watt University won both first and second prizes in the 2002 actuarial competition organised by reassurer SCOR UK. The annual competition requires no preset subject matter, but the papers should deal with mathematics, physics, or economics related to the evaluation and management of risks. The jury consisted of government actuary Chris Daykin, Professor David Wilkie, Stavros Christofides (Heath Lambert), Anthony Carus (NFU Mutual), and Shaun Wang and Eric Lecoeur of SCOR US and UK respectively. The winners received their prizes at a reception at Clothworkers’ Hall in London on 2 July, which was also a celebration of the company’s 30 years’ presence in the UK.

The winners were: Eric Lecoeur (SCOR), Chris Daykin (government actuary), Maria Charalambous, Jennifer Griffith, Professor David Wilkie, Stavros Christofides (Heath Lambert Group), Anthony Carus (NFU Mutual)

The prizewinners. First prize, Jennifer Griffith. Second prize, Maria Charalambous.

For a full picture version of this article see the PDF of the education news